In May 1991, a group of young mathematicians initiated a founding of a professional association of scientists working in different areas of mathematics, living in different countries and having a  contribution to the development of Mathematics in the Republic of Armenia.

A few years before that there existed a not formally organized Union of Young Mathematicians, which regularly arranged scientific sessions with research reports, and even convoked fairly representative (on the scale of the USSR) conferences (the first held in 1982, on the theme: Modern problems of mathematical physics.)

Then the idea was born, despite existing obstacles, to create a community of scholars in the traditional form of Mathematical Society.

Due to historical circumstances, the scientists related to the Mathematics in Armenia are scattered around the world. Some of them received vocational education outside the republic, but works here. Others, however, have grown as researchers in Armenia, but works in different countries. As well, a category of scientists exists, which were formed as mathematicians and worked outside of the republic, but are making their contribution to the development of our science. That was the reason why “Union” was chosen as a name for the establishing professional association.

The first congress was held on May 18, 1991.
This was the time between the declaration of independence (August 23, 1990, as the first non-Baltic Soviet republics) and the collapse of the Soviet Union (December 1991).

Almost all mathematicians of the republic gathered in the Great Hall of the State University and discussed organizational and immediate problems.

The Charter of AMU was adopted and an administration was elected.
The first President of the AMU became Prof. Alexander Talalyan, the dean of the Departement of Mathematics of YSU that time.

The members of the first Council were elected:
Sergey Antonyan, Samvel Apresyan, Norayr Arakelian, Victor Arzumanian, Bagrat Batikyan, Gegham Gevorgyan, Samvel Dalalyan, Norayr Yengibaryan, Vanik Zakaryan, Alexander Talalyan, Sargis Hakobyan, Hrachik Hayrapetyan, Tigran Harutyunyan, Felix  Harutyunyan, Haik Ghazaryan, Valeriy Martirosyan, Vardan Martirosyan, Yuri Movsisyan, Karen Yagjyan, Vladimir Yavryan, Boris Nahapetyan, Romen Shahbaghyan, Faizo Shamoyan, Shvayts Sahakyan, Sokrat Simonyan, Ashot Vagharshakyan, Victor Ohanyan.

The members of the first Auditing committee:
Rafael Aramyan, Arthur E. Avetisyan, Robert Davtyan, Ashot Kakosyan, Hamlet Martirosyan, Yervand Mkrtchyan, Boris Sahakyan.

On May 24. two vice-Presidents and the Executive board (Administration) were elected from among the members of the Council:
Vice-presidents: Boris Nahapetyan, Gegham Gevorgyan.
Victor Arzumanian (Secretary), Norayr Yengibaryan, Haik Ghazaryan,
Vardan Martirosyan, Romen Shahbaghyan, Victor Ohanyan (Treasurer).

This was the last session of the Council. Later the real guidance of AMU effected by the Administration. On the following Congresses the number of Council’s members were reduced, and the administrative functions were entrusted to the Executive board.

The Armenian Mathematical Union was officially registered by the Justice Ministry of RA on July 10, 1991.
Since 1993 AMU is a member of International Mathematical Union.

Several numbers of informational bulletins were issued in small numbers of copies. Copies of all extant issues can be found here.

The following is a complete list of past congresses of AMU and elected presidents of the society.

  • 1991, Alexander Talalyan
  • 1994, Norayr Arakelian
  • 1997, Ruben Ambartzumian
  • 2001, Norayr Yengibaryan
  • 2004, Hrachik Hayrapetyan
  • 2011, Tigran Harutunyan
  • 2017, Yuri Movsisyan

The list of current functionaries of AMU see here.